South Africa Men’s Rugby Sevens Team

The Squad

Kyle Brown
Tim Agaba
Philip Snyman
Werner Kok
Dylan Sage
Kwagga Smith
Rosko Specman
Cheslin Kolbe
Cecil Afrika
Justin Geduld
Juan de Jongh
Seabelo Senatla

About the Team

South Africa qualified for Rio de Janeiro by virtue of their 2nd place finish in the 2014/15 HSBC World Sevens Series standings. 

The South Africa Sevens finished in 2nd place in the HSBC World Series in 2015/16 as well winning 1 tournament and making 3 other finals and 8 semifinals.

“We need to train with purpose and make sure we are ready come 9 August, when Rugby Sevens is played in Rio,” Springbok Sevens coach, Neil Powell told AllAfrica.  “We have a good mix of sevens and fifteens players and will play in one warm-up tournament early in July before we jet off…“

The South Africa Sevens team is known by the Blitzboks or Blitzbokke nicknames.

South African men's rugby sevens totals Rio Olympics