New Zealand Men’s Rugby Sevens Team

The Squad

Scott Curry
Sam Dickson
DJ Forbes
Akira Ioane
Rieko Ioane
Gillies Kaka
Tim Mikkelson
Augustine Pulu
Teddy Stanaway
Regan Ware
Joe Webber
Sonny Bill Williams

About the Team

new zealand flag
New Zealand qualified for Brazil with their 3rd place finish in the HSBC Sevens Series 2014/15 standings.  The All Black Sevens will be playing to continue the recent run of form of New Zealand rugby with the men’s 15’s side winning the Rugby World Cup in 2011 and 2015.

But the 7’s side has no reason to feel as though they are second best to the 15’s side with a stacked trophy cabinet all their own.  The All Blacks Sevens have won an unprecedented 12 World Rugby Sevens Series and 2 Rugby World Cup Sevens titles.

Head coach Gordon Tietjens’ side will be confident heading to Brazil after being named drawn into arguably the weakest pool of the tournament, based on last season’s HSBC final standings.

New Zealand use the nickname All Blacks Sevens.

New Zealand men's rugby sevens totals Rio Olympics