Great Britain Men’s Rugby Sevens Team

The Squad

Tom Mitchell
Mark Bennett
Dan Bibby
Phil Burgess
Sam Cross
Alex Davis

James Davies
Ollie Lindsay-Hague
Dan Norton
James Rodwell
Mark Robertson
Marcus Watson

About the Team

The Great Britain national rugby sevens team is a select team composed of players from England, Wales, and Scotland although the team qualified for the tournament by virtue of England’s 4th place finish in the 2014/15 HSBC Sevens Series.  

Team GB is preparing for this summer’s games with training sessions and by entering 2 teams – GB Lions and GB Royals – in the Rugby Europe Grand Prix Sevens Series that started in early June.

One of the biggest challenges for Team GB Sevens head coach Simon Amor is finding the chemistry with a select side.

“We’ve put a big focus on the importance of an extraordinary GB spirit,” Amor told Team GB.  “The players have really embraced that and everyone knows we are on a unique and special journey together over the next seven weeks.”

“Mistakes will be inevitable, given the limited time together, but we will have a very simple approach to attack and defend.  The biggest thing we are looking for is that hunger and desire to work for each other and GB.”

Great Britain rugby sevens totals Rio Olympics